1. Teaching basic and applied pharmaceutical sciences and technology
  2. Training in the skills necessary to properly accomplish the social mission of pharmaceutical sciences
  3. Contributing to social development through research on pharmaceutical sciences

  The general purpose of pharmaceutical education in Japan is not only to train pharmacists in the administration of medical treatment but also to instill in researchers and technologists a broad knowledge of the fields relevant to pharmaceutical science. The Pharmaceutical curricula thus include various fields of life science and many schools and institutes have opted for the title “pharmaceutical sciences” over the more traditional “school of pharmacy” to reflect this broad-based approach. Practically the Okayama University faculty members carry out the above objectives, as shown in the Lectures & Practices, and graduating students find employment in a variety of locations: pharmaceutical companies, hospitals, diagnostic laboratories, public research institutions, educational institutions etc. In addition to completing lectures and practices, undergraduate are obliged to complete a senior thesis during their fourth and final school year. Each student is given a research topic. Outstanding theses are published in scientific journals pertinent to the specific field. More than half of the graduating students enter the graduate school’s master’s degree program (2 years), and some of them go on to the doctoral program (3 years) after the receiving master’s degree. The master’s program is administered along with the undergraduate program in the Graduate School of Natural Science and Technology of Okayama University (GSNST-OU), but the doctoral program under GSNST-OU is an independent unit cooperatively managed by five natural science faculties : Science, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Science & Technology and Agriculture. GSNST-OU is composed of the following six interdisciplinary and comprehensive divisions: Science & Technology for Materials, Science for Engineering & Agricultural Technology, Bioresource Science, Biopharmaceutical Science, System Science and Science & Technology for Intelligence. All staff of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences belong to the Division of Biopharmaceutical Science. Organization of other graduate schools and institutes of Okayama University is shown in the appendix. Education in our Faculty has been fully devoted to pharmaceutical sciences, but slightly lacking in the teaching of practical clinical pharmacy. Therefore, the Medical Pharmacy Division was added to the master’s program of the graduate school in 1995. The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences (FPS-OU) is composed of 18 chairs, and research is conducted in greatly varied areas. The projects and recent publications of the faculty are listed below. The high productivity of our faculty was attested to in Nature in 1994 (31:125). FPS-OU was established in 1969 as a department of the Medical School with seven chairs and was separated from that unit in 1976. The history of the Faculty is as follows:

1969 Department of Pharmaceutical Science (DPS) was added to the Medical School.
1970 Chairs of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Physiological Chemistry and Pharmacognosy were established in DPS.
1971 Chairs of Pharmacology, Health Chemistry were established in DPS.
1972 Chairs of Bioorganic Chemistry and Pharmaceutics were established in DPS.
1973 Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences of Okayama University (GSPS-OU) was established.
1975 Department of Pharmaceutical Technology (DPT) was added to the Medical School.
1976 DPS and DPT were separated from the Medical School and FPS-OU was established.
1976 Chairs of Pharmaceutical Analytical Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Physical Chemistry were established in DPT.
1977 Chairs of Microbiology and Immunochemistry were established in DPT.
1978 Chairs of Synthetic & Medicinal Chemistry and Environmental Hygiene were established in DPT.
1994 Chair of Pharmaceutical Fundamental Science was established in DPT.
1995 Medical Pharmacy Division was added to the DSPS-OU and Chairs of Clinical Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Information Sciences, Hospital Pharmacy and Diagnostic & Therapeutic Chemistry were established in the division.
1999 Reorganization of DPS was completed. Two Departments (Pharmaceutical Science and Pharmaceutical Technology) were unified as the Department of General Pharmaceutical Sciences. GSPS-OU (master’s course) is unified with the Graduate School of Natural Science and Technology (doctoral course) as the Graduate School of Natural Science and Technology (master’s course; Divisions of Pharmaceutical Science and Clinical Pharmaceutical Science).
2001 Reorganization of the Graduate School of Natural Science and Technology (doctoral course) was completed. The Division of Biopharmaceutical Science was transferred to the Division of Biotechnological and Pharmaceutical Science in the Graduate School of Natural Science and Technology (doctoral course).
2002 Reorganization of the Graduate School of Natural Science and Technology (master’s course) was completed. Two Divisions (Pharmaceutical Science and Clinical Pharmaceutical Science) and five Departments (Medicine-Development Science, Molecular and Cellular Pharmaceutical-Science, Health Pharmaceutical-Science, Clinical Pharmacotherapeutic Science and Clinical Pharmaceutical-Science) were established in the reorganized master’s course.